2013 Texas Legislature: House Committees

Please make a special effort to call – and get your friends and family to call – if you live in one of these districts. Note that some the zip codes are “split” between districts. You can also check who your State Representative is at www.fyi.legis.state.tx.us or by calling the Capitol Switchboard at (512) 463-4630. Listed below are members of the Calendars, Public Health, Ways and Means, and Natural Resources committees. (Read a description of the eight bills filed during the 2013 Texas legislative session.)

 
 

MEMBERS OF THE CALENDARS COMMITTEE

These Representatives will hear the raw milk (HB 46) and capping farmers market health permit fees (HB 910) bills:

    • Todd Hunter – Chair (part of Nueces County – Zip Codes 78343, 78373, 78401, 78404, 78407, 78411, 78412, 78413, 78414, 78415, 78417, 78418, 78419) | Phone: 512-463-0672 | Email: Todd.Hunter@house.state.tx.us
    • Eddie Lucio III – Vice Chair (part of Cameron County – Zip Codes 78520, 78521, 78526, 78550, 78552, 78559, 78566, 78575, 78583, 78586) |  Phone: 512-463-0606 | Email: Eddie.Lucio@house.state.tx.us
    • Roberto Alonzo (part of Dallas County – Zip Codes 75050, 75051, 75052, 75060, 75203, 75208, 75211, 75212, 75216, 75224, 75233) | Phone: 512-463-0408 | Email: Roberto.Alonzo@house.state.tx.us
    • Carol Alvarado (part of Harris County – Zip Codes 77002, 77003, 77007, 77009, 77011, 77012, 77017, 77023, 77026, 77034, 77087, 77089, 77504, 77587) | Phone: 463-0732 | Email: Carol.Alvarado@house.state.tx.us
    • Dan Branch (part of Dallas County – Zip Codes 75201, 75202, 75204, 75205, 75206, 75209, 75214, 75219, 75220, 75223, 75225, 75226, 75230, 75231, 75246) | Phone: 512-463-0367 | Email: Dan.Branch@house.state.tx.us
    • Angie Chen Button (part of Dallas County – Zip Codes 75040, 75042, 75044, 75048, 75080, 75081, 75082, 75089, 75098, 75243) | Phone: 512-463-0486 | Email: Angie.Button@house.state.tx.us
    • Byron Cook (Anderson, Freestone, Hill, and Navarro Counties) | Phone: 512-463-0730 | Email: Byron.Cook@house.state.tx.us *
    •  Myra Crownover (part of Denton County – Zip Codes 75065, 76201, 76205, 76207, 76208, 76210, 76226, 76227, 76234, 76249, 76258, 76259, 762669) | Phone: 512-463-0582 | Email: Myra.Crownover@house.state.tx.us
    • Sarah Davis (part of Harris County – Zip Codes 77002, 004, 005, 006, 007, 008, 019, 024, 025, 027, 030, 046, 056, 057, 081, 096, 098, 401) | Phone: 512-463-0389 | Email: Sarah.Davis@house.state.tx.us
    • Craig Eiland (Chambers County, part of Galveston County – Zip Codes 77510, 77518, 77539, 77550, 77551, 77554, 77563, 77568, 77573, 77590, 77591, 77650) | Phone: 512-463-0502 | Email: Craig.Eiland@house.state.tx.us
    • John Frullo (part of Lubbock County – Zip Codes 79401, 79403, 79404, 79407, 79409, 79410, 79411, 79412, 79413, 79414, 79415, 79416, 79423, 79424) | Phone: 512-463-0676 | Email: John.Frullo@house.state.tx.us
    • Charlie Geren (part of Tarrant County – Zip Codes 76020, 76052, 76071, 76107, 76108, 76114, 76116, 76127, 76131, 76135, 76179) | Phone: 512-463-0610 | Email: Charlie.Geren@house.state.tx.us
    • Helen Giddings (part of Dallas County – Zip Codes 75104, 75115, 75125, 75134, 75141, 75146, 75154, 75159, 75172, 75180, 75216, 75217, 75232, 75241, 75249, 75253) | Phone: 512-463-0953 | Email: Helen.Giddings@house.state.tx.us
    • Edmund Kuempel (Guadalupe and Wilson Counties) | Phone: 512-463-0602 | Email: Edmund.Kuempel@house.state.tx.us
    • Doug Miller (Comal, Gillespie, and Kendall Counties) | Phone: 512-463-0325 | Email: Doug.Miller@house.state.tx.us

 
 

MEMBERS OF THE HOUSE PUBLIC HEALTH COMMITTEE

These Representatives will hear the cottage foods (HB 970), farmers market sampling (HB 1382),  DSHS communications (HB 1392), and separate building requirement (HB 1393) bills:

  • Garnet Coleman (part of Harris County – Zip Codes 77002, 003, 004, 006, 007, 010, 019, 021, 033, 048, 061, 075, 087, 089, 098) | Phone: 512-463-0524 | Email: Garnet.Coleman@house.state.tx.us
  • Nicole Collier (part of Tarrant County – Zip Codes 76012, 76102, 76103, 76104, 76105, 76107, 76110, 76111, 76112, 7615, 76119, 76120, 76133, 76134, 76140) |  Phone: 512-463-0716 | Email: Nicole.Collier@house.state.tx.us
  • Philip Cortez (part of Bexar County – Zip Codes 78002, 006, 023, 039, 052, 073, 211, 224, 226, 227, 236, 242, 245, 251, 252, 253, 254, 255) | Phone: 512-463-0269 | Email: Philip.Cortez@house.state.tx.us
  • Sarah Davis (part of Houston County – Zip Codes 77002, 004, 005, 006, 007, 008, 019, 024, 025, 027, 030, 046, 056, 057, 081, 096, 098, 401) | Phone: 512-463-0389 | Email: Sarah.Davis@house.state.tx.us
  • Bobby Guerra (part of Hidalgo County – Zip Codes 78501, 78503, 78504, 78539, 78572, 78573, 78574, 78577) | Phone: 512-463-0578 | Email: Bobby.Guerra@house.state.tx.us
  • Susan King (Jones, Nolan, and Taylor counties) | Phone: 512-463-0718 | Email: Susan.King@house.state.tx.us
  • Lois Kolkhorst Chair (Austin, Burleson, Colorado, Fayette, Grimes, Lavaca, and Washington counties) | Phone: 512-463-0600 | Email: Lois.Kolkhorst@house.state.tx.us

**If you are in Chairwoman Kolkhorst’s district, please be sure to say “thank you for sponsoring HB 910!”, while also asking for her support for the raw milk bill.

  • Jodie Laubenberg (part of Collin County – Zip Codes 75002, 75048, 75069, 75074, 75087, 75094, 75098, 75166, 75173, 75189, 75407) | Phone: 512-463-0186 | Email: Jodie.Laubenberg@house.state.tx.us

**Rep. Laubenberg is a joint author on the raw milk bill. If you are her constituent, please be sure to say “thank you for joint authoring the raw milk bill!”, while asking for her support on the cottage foods bill.

  •  Elliott Naishtat Vice Chair (part of the City of Austin – Zip Codes 78701, 78703, 78704, 78705, 78712, 78731, 78735, 78745, 78746, 78751, 78752, 78756, 78757, 78758, 78759) | Phone: 512-463-0668 | Email: Elliott.Naishtat@house.state.tx.us
  • J.D. Sheffield (Comanche, Coryell, Erath, Hamilton, McCulloch, Mills, San Saba, and Somervell counties) | Phone: 512-463-0628 | Email: J.D.Sheffield@house.state.tx.us
  • Bill Zedler (part of Tarrant County – Zip Codes 76001, 76002, 76017, 76028, 76036, 76060, 76063, 76123, 76134, 76140) Phone: 512-463-0374 | Email: Bill.Zedler@house.state.tx.us

 

MEMBERS OF THE HOUSE WAYS AND MEANS COMMITTEE 

These Representatives will hear the property tax (HB 1306) bills:

*Counties with a star don’t have zip codes listed; this means that the legislators represent the entire county.

  • Dwayne Bohac (part of Harris County – Zip Codes 77041, 77043, 77055, 77079, 77080, 77084, 77095, 77449) | Phone: (512) 463-0727 | Email: Dwayne.Bohac@house.state.tx.us
  • Angie Chen Button (part of Dallas County – Zip Codes 75040, 75042, 75044, 75048, 75080, 75081, 75082, 75089, 75098, 75243) | Phone: (512) 463-0486 | Email: n/a
  • Craig Eiland (Chambers* County, part of Galveston County – Zip Codes 77510, 77518, 77539, 77550, 77551, 77554, 77563, 77568, 77573, 77590, 77591, 77650) | Phone: (512) 463-0502 | Email: Craig.Eiland@house.state.tx.us
  • Naomi Gonzalez (part of El Paso County – Zip Codes 79903, 79905, 79906, 79907, 79915, 79916, 79925, 79927) | Phone: (512) 463-0622 | Email: Naomi.Gonzalez@house.state.tx.us
  • Harvey Hilderbran – Chair (Bandera*, Crockett*, Edwards*, Kerr*, Kimble*, Llano*, Mason*, Medina*, Menard*, Real*, Schleicher*, and Sutton* counties) | Phone: (512) 463-0536 | Email: Harvey.Hilderbran@house.state.tx.us
  • Trey Martinez Fischer (part of Bexar County – Zip Codes 78201, 78207, 78228, 78229, 78230, 78240, 78249) | Phone: (512) 463-0616 | Email: trey.martinezfischer@house.state.tx.us
  • John Otto – Vice Chair (Liberty*, San Jacinto*, and Walker* counties) | Phone: (512) 463-0570 | Email: John.Otto@house.state.tx.us
  • Allan Ritter (Orange* County, part of Jefferson County – Zip Codes 77619, 77622, 77627, 77640, 77642, 77651, 77665, 77705, 77706, 77707, 77713)  | Phone: (512) 463-0706 | Email: Allan.Ritter@house.state.tx.us
  • Mark Strama (part of Travis County – Zip Codes 78615, 78621, 78634, 78653, 78660, 78664, 78727, 78728, 78729, 78750, 78753, 78754, 78758, 78759) | Phone: (512) 463-0821 | Email: Mark.Strama@house.state.tx.us

 

MEMBERS OF THE NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

These Representatives will hear the wastewater fee bill (HB 254):

*Counties with a star don’t have zip codes listed; this means that the legislators represent the entire county.

  • Trent Ashby (Angelina*, Houston*, Leon*, Madison*, San Augustine*, and Trinity* counties) | Phone: (512) 463-0508 | Email: Ashby.Trent@house.state.tx.us
  • Dennis Bonnen (Matagorda* County, part of Brazoria County – Zip Codes 77422, 77430, 77444, 77480, 77486, 77515, 77531, 77534, 77541, 77566, 77583) | Phone: (512) 463-0564 | Email: Dennis.Bonnen@house.state.tx.us
  • Bill Callegari (part of Harris County – Zip Codes 77084, 77429, 77433, 77447, 77449, 77450, 77493, 77494) | Phone: (512) 463-0528 | Email: William.Callegari@house.state.tx.us
  • Eric Johnson – Vice Chair (part of Dallas County – Zip Codes 75149, 75150, 75201, 75203, 75207, 75210, 75212, 75214, 75215, 75216, 75218, 75223, 75224, 75226, 75227, 75228) | Phone: (512) 463-0586 | Email: Eric.Johnson@house.state.tx.us
  • James L. “Jim” Keffer (Brown*, Callahan*, Coleman*, Eastland*, Hood*, Palo Pinto*, Shackelford*, and Stephens* counties) | Phone: (512) 463-0656 | Email: Jim.Keffer@house.state.tx.us
  • Tracy O. King (Dimmit*, Frio*, Uvalde*, part of Webb [zip codes 78041, 78043, 78045, 78046, 78344, 78369], Zapata*, and Zavala* counties) | Phone: (512) 463-0194 | Email: Tracy.King@house.state.tx.us
  • Lyle Larson (part of Bexar County – Zip Codes 78006, 78015, 78023, 78216, 78230, 78231, 78232, 78248, 78249, 78255, 78256, 78257, 78258, 78260, 78261) | Phone: (512) 463-0646 | Email: Lyle.Larson@house.state.tx.us
  • Eddie Lucio III (part of Cameron County – Zip Codes 78520, 78521, 78526, 78550, 78552, 78559, 78566, 78575, 78583, 78586) | Phone: (512) 463-0606 | Email: Eddie.Lucio@house.state.tx.us
  • Trey Martinez Fischer (part of Bexar County – Zip Codes 78201, 78207, 78228, 78229, 78230, 78240, 78249) | Phone: (512) 463-0616 | Email: trey.martinezfischer@house.state.tx.us
  • Doug Miller (Comal*, Gillespie*, and Kendall* counties) | Phone: (512) 463-0325 | Email: Doug.Miller@house.state.tx.us
  • Allan Ritter – Chair (Orange* County, part of Jefferson County – Zip Codes 77619, 77622, 77627, 77640, 77642, 77651, 77665, 77705, 77706, 77707, 77713)  | Phone: (512) 463-0706 | Email: Allan.Ritter@house.state.tx.us
Thank you for speaking up for Texas farms and local foods!  There are many challenges ahead as we try to pass these bills, and your participation is vital.
Working together, we can make our voices heard.